A Prize for Nothing!

And now, thanks to Liam, Head Phil, I have my very first blog award. The Fantastic Blog Award. I hardly feel that I deserve it, as all I have done is post sporadically on generally dull topics over a period of just a few months. But I have been a half-regular commenter on Liam’s blog over the same time-period, and Liam’s blog is over-flowing with awards: so I guess he has to siphon them off somewhere!

I probably should have written a couple of educated-sounding (and funny) posts immediately after Liam nominated me, but I have done nothing – not even accepted his award – until now. So all the extra followers that I might have hooked will have visited, seen that my blog was profoundly boring, and moved on. Never mind.

Now it is time to answer five questions that Liam has asked of his nominees:

1. Say a letter was mailed to you one day– what would you wish to be in it?

Most of the exceedingly few letters I get these days are from the library, telling me that a book that I’ve requested is ready to be picked up (and that’s only when I’m in Australia). So perhaps a long and interesting letter from a friend (preferably with hand-writing that I can somewhat decipher). Or… let’s be fantastical. Perhaps a letter saying that I’ve been picked to compete in some athletics meet!

2. Say that same letter was incinerated before you read it– what would be your reaction?

If I knew that it was a letter I was dearly hoping for, I’d be pretty mad. If it was from the athletics meet people, I’d probably ask them to send it again. If it was from a friend… I don’t know. You can hardly just re-write a personal letter.

3. If you could abolish one day of the week and everything that happens on it, which would you choose?

Probably Monday. Monday is tough, because after having a ball on the weekend you plunge back into reality: for me, study, and when I get older, work. Not that I would wish not to have an education – or not to work – but plunging into it on Monday isn’t that fun for some reason. But then again, if I abolished Monday would Tuesday become the new Monday? I don’t see that being any better.

4.What was the last piece of music you listened to?

That makes me think…. I had my Shuffle in my pocket all the way from Sydney Airport to Kualar Lumpur Airport to Phnom Penh Airport, but I don’t think I listened to it once. My Kindle – in the other pocket – was the more privileged entertainer. Turning on my iPod and triple clicking – to find the last song played – I got Rotting on Remand, by Billy Bragg. So that’s probably the last thing I listened to – except for the sound-track of Brave, which I watched on the plane.

5. What is your favo[u]rite regional accent?

As I just said, I watched Brave the other night, and I love the Scottish accents in that movie. So Scottish may well be my favourite accent. Kiwi is not bad either.

Now I get to ask question of you! And here they are:

  1. What is your favourite board game?
  2. What, in your opinion, is the best blog-post you have written?
  3. What is your favourite sport (either to play or to watch, or both)?
  4. How do you like to get around: by car, bicycle, bus, legs, motorbike, oxcart…?
  5. Do you prefer to live in the mountains or on the flats – and why?

And now I am meant to give this award to five lucky people! I only really comment on two blogs, though, and one of them is Liam’s. I would feel a bit silly giving it to somebody whose blog I never comment on. So I will give it to the one other blog I sometimes comment on:

The Zebra Clan, by Hithere298.

And now for the rules:

  1. Thank the person who gave you the award.
  2. Answer the five questions given to you, and ask the next person five new questions.
  3. Award five people.
  4. Post the rules.

And that’s that!

About Leinad

Leinad, also known as Keras the Unknown (Keras for short), also known as Thevarul, is an MK who likes to run, read, write and play board-games.

Posted on September 20, 2012, in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Just so you know, I give awards to the blogs of anyone who comments on mine. I don’t care whether their blog is good, promising (yours stands on the higher end of this), or extremely dull. I’m glad you got an award, and that I was the one to give it.

Leave a Reply

