Stutter

Like a stutter,
You draw the pen across the page, then blot it out.
Try again.
It must must be perfect this time.
Perfect?
Does perfection exist?
Will you ever see him on the treadmill at the gym,
Or catch his shadow passing round the corner of Main Street?
Is anything perfect?
Are our spidery black marks on the paper flawless?
Maybe not.
But, like a stutter,
They take a shape of their own,
And can become
Beautiful.

About Leinad

Leinad, also known as Keras the Unknown (Keras for short), also known as Thevarul, is an MK who likes to run, read, write and play board-games.

Posted on October 11, 2014, in My Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. At times, it didn’t feel perfecty in sync. But then, as you mentioned, is anything perfect? I love the imagery, though, of our words being like a stutter. It’s quite compelling, actually!

    • I just realised this was perhaps a dangerous poem to post because people might think that, if I don’t believe it’s possible to write anything perfect, I won’t want any critiquing of my work. But that’s completely not true, because I still believe in spending lots of time and effort trying to get my work as close to that impossible ideal as I can.

      I’m glad you like the imagery, but I’ll certainly have to work on the other aspects. I have only written a tiny amount of poetry, so I need a lot more practice.

      • Hmm, I hadn’t thought of it that way. I can see where some people might get that impression; I didn’t, personally. I think I interpreted it more as a realization that we live in an imperfect world and that our own human creations can never be perfect. In fact, they’re often downright ugly. But the Creator makes them beautiful. *shrugs* Maybe that was just me, though. πŸ™‚

        Yeah, I know the feeling. My own poetic attempts are fairly miserable most of the time. I prefer to be poetic through prose, usually. Every now and then, I really wish I was better at poetry, though. πŸ˜€

      • Well that’s good πŸ™‚ I’m glad you got the right impression.

        Yes, I am better at poetic prose too. I didn’t even like poetry until fairly recently, so I really had no reason to want to write it, but as my appreciation of poetry has grown, so too has my desire to be able to write it.

        Sorry I took a while to reply β€” I’ve been terribly busy the last couple of weeks. I had a 3 hour History exam on Tuesday, and then a 3 hour Maths exam on Wednesday, and then a 3 hour Economics exam today… holding out for the end of school!

      • Well then, maybe there’s hope for me. πŸ˜€

        *shudders* 3 hour exams?! Not fun at all! I”m glad you survived them!

  2. Gorgeous poem! It definitely hits home here.

Leave a Reply

